loving LA

Roma Italian Market in Pasadena | February 27, 2010

Three words: Don’t miss it.

Roma Italian Market is an absolute treasure of old world Italian service, style and staples. Found right in our own neighborhood of Pasadena at the corner of Lake and Mountain.

This unassuming little Deli, run by Roz (Rosario), a native of Sicily – has been a staple in the North Pasadena / Altadena Neighborhood just off of Lake avenue for 50 years. Roma’s is Run by Roz, who is a treasure himself – and his family and close friends – he still works there 7 days a week 10 hours a day himself, behind the deli counter, slicing up never ending delights of authentic Italian cheeses, cold cuts, and humor with a twinkle in his eye and his hand always on the slicer as if it is at last an extension of himself after all these years.

The Cheese Wiz

Every time I walk into the deli, I am greeted like a long lost freind. Now, that could be because of the exorbitant amount of time and money I have spent dawdling, ogling and extorting samples of every possible cheese and meat combination over the course of the past two years OR it could be because that is simply the way it is done and Roz is a marketing and customer service genius. My favorite cheese thus far is the provolone dulce, but I am also hugely partial to the asiago, which boasts a nutty creaminess and is easily enjoyed with a glass of red wine (typically a chianti or sangiovese for me) and often accompanied with many thin and tasty slices of prosciutto de Parma that I usually pick up at the same time.

We all have our favorites, but if you want a culinary adventure, let Roz suggest some of his favorites from the deli case for you to take home. 

In addition to the delightful deli selections including the freshest mozzerella and ricotta you can buy, an entire olive bar and handmade DAILY italian sausages, the market has a section of frozen and dried pastas that are of a very good quality.In fact, I think it is the best variety of pastas that I have found thus far in Los Angeles and believe me, I look frequently. They also have a terrific assortment of sauces and oils, anchovies, fresh capers packed in salt, dried mushrooms, and every possible kitchen staple you need to whip up an authentic Italian meal like Nonna used to make.

freshly baked Ciabatta daily

on certain days, they have fresh cannolis available to purchase, but you usually need to pre-reserve them because they are sold before they hit the deli case. I had the chance to purchase some last new years and they were worth the effort. They also always have figs and dates available by the cash register.

a bit of history

The unsung hero of the Deli is, well a Hero… sandwich that is. It is made exclusively by Roz behind the counter of the deli case. There are no meat and cheese selections, no additions, deletions or fixings to mull over – there is ONE sandwich and if you are lucky enough to have time to order it, you will be glad that this one simple, delicious and mouth groovy sandwich is upheld in perpetuity. It’s made on fresh ciabatta and has provolone, olive oil, salami, prosciutto, the other one with the olives an pistachios in it…and some other stuff I can’t remember…. Actually, I don’t really care, because it doesn’t even matter to me what is in it – that is how good it is! And this is coming from someone who is VERY specific about the quality and taste of everything I eat – I hope that says something special about this sandwich.  Unfortunately, on this visit I ate mine up before I remembered to take a picture… For best results – Just go eat one.

I usually eat my sandwich accompanied by an ice cold glass bottle (it does taste better!) of the Authentic “made with sugar” Coke from Mexico – In my opinion this combination is the best lunch a lady of Pasadena can ask for.

Best Sauce for Homemade Pizza

Finally, the market has a selection of Italian wines and fresh veggies and fruits including some nice tomatoes and usually some great basil and other staples.  I have yet to venture into the dessert area – but it looks like they have a lot of nice Italian cookies, buns and cakes to choose from. I prefer the cheeses and meats myself.

My husband and I have found many “favorites” in this market and look forward to discovering many more for years to come. If I could live in a market – this would be the one. Please stop by to discover your own favorites and support Roma Market to keep this local tradition and culinary treasure alive.

And if you happen to end up in line at the deli counter behind me, be prepared to wait!

new disciples


Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment